Spiritual Self-Defense.

Last weekend, I went to a workshop about spiritual protection. A lady with many years of experience in witchcraft talked to us about visualization, personal power and smudging, then taught us to make a protective talisman. It was great, especially since almost all my previous knowledge on the subject came from one book – Sophie Reicher’s Spiritual Protection: A Safety Manual for Energy Workers, Healers, and Psychics. It’s a fantastic book and I would absolutely recommend it, but it’s always good to learn something new.

So I’ve been wondering what spiritual defenses you all use, if any. To get back to basics, do you think spiritual defenses are even necessary? I have read people say that if you have a strong and confident spirit, things like shields and the like are redundant. I’ve also heard people say that spiritual or magical attacks will only work if you believe they will, and so if you simply don’t believe that you can be harmed in this way, then you can’t be.

For those of you who do believe that spiritual defenses are useful/necessary, it would be great to hear about any of your own measures that you don’t mind sharing. Do you protect yourself in daily life, or just when working ritual or magic? Is it all a mental effort, or do you use physical items like candles, talismans or witch bottles? (Fascinated by witch bottles…) Do any of you have psychic gifts that you need to shield? What are you protecting yourself *against*, exactly? Are there any books you could recommend? Lastly, is there anything cool or weird you’ve heard or read about that you would like to share with the class?

I recan/smudge my flat once a week with sage incense (I’d rather use mugwort, but I honestly can’t find anywhere that sells mugwort incense, and proper smudge sticks set our fire alarm off). For personal protection I shield, and I’m currently learning to merge with one of my Spirit Guides for reliable protection when journeying – because He is far more powerful than I could ever hope to be! I also have a tattoo on the back of my neck that I designed as a protective symbol.

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Self-Defense.

Leave a Reply

