Morning and Evening Prayers.

Morning;

I light this incense in Your honor, mighty Gods, Goddesses, Spirits and Ancestors. I strive to keep you all in my heart (touch heart) and in my thoughts (touch forehead). As I work to perceive You more clearly, please help me to listen and to hear Your voices. As I reach out and try to grow closer to You, please help me to grow, in my faith, strength and understanding. (If I need help with something, I’ll ask now.) I will endeavor to live this day to the best of my ability, with an attitude of joyfulness and compassion*. Thank You all for hearing my prayer.

 

Evening;

I light this incense in Your honor, mighty Gods, Goddesses, Spirits and Ancestors. (I then talk about the day, especially the stuff I’m grateful for.) Please help me to rest,so that I can do the things I need and want to do. I would be honored to meet You or be guided by You in my dreams. Thank You all for hearing my prayer.

 

*Just for the record, the whole ‘attitude of joyfulness and compassion’ thing was not my idea. I have also been known to change this last line if I really need to; ‘with courage and fortitude’, for example. Or even ‘with patience and self-control’…

Leave a Reply

